Live Stats
Live Events
Megan Oosting, Shawn Parkhurst and Bill Maher

Parkhurst and Oosting Named Athletes of the Year

Courtesy: Canisius College Athletics
Release: 05/01/2012
Related Links

Junior Shawn Parkhurst of men's swimming and diving team and senior Megan Oosting of the women's lacrosse team were honored as Canisius College Male and Female Athletes of the Year at the athletic department's annual awards ceremony, held on May 1 in the Montante Cultural Center. The awards are voted on by Canisius student-athletes, coaches, administrators and support staff.

Parkhurst led the Canisius men's swimming and diving team to a second-place finish at the 2012 MAAC Championship, the best performance in the program's history. The junior defended his conference title in the 1,000-yard freestyle, setting pool, school and conference records. He also placed second in the 1,650-yard freestyle and anchored the 400-yard freestyle relay to a third-place finish, which pushed the Griffs past perennial MAAC power Marist for second in the team standings during the meet's final event.

Overall, Parkhurst is a three-time MAAC individual champion. During the 2011-12 campaign, the Scriba, N.Y. native established school records in the 200-yard freestyle, 1,000-yard freestyle and 200-yard butterfly, while being a part of four record-breaking relay teams.

The MAAC Midfielder of the Year, Oosting set a school record with 55 goals during her senior campaign, while adding nine assists, 69 draw controls, 33 ground balls and 22 caused turnovers. She leads all players in the MAAC and ranks 15th nationally with 3.24 goals per game and 22nd with 4.06 draw controls per game.

The Lakefield, Ontario native helped lead the Griffs to their second-straight MAAC Championship this past weekend, earning All-Tournament honors. A three-time first-team All-MAAC selection, Oosting owns the program's all-time records with 151 goals and 200 draw controls, while placing third with 88 career caused turnovers and fourth with 183 career points.

Parkhurst is the first swimmer to be named Canisius Male Athlete of the Year, while Oosting is the second women's lacrosse player to garner Female Athlete of the Year honors - Whitney Card also earned the award in 2006.

06/24/2017 - Athletic Department
Canisius Athletics Mourns the Loss of Father Cooke
05/16/2017 - Athletic Department
Blue and Gold Golf Classic to be Held July 31
05/10/2017 - Athletic Department
Canisius Receives High Marks in NCAA APR Release
05/03/2017 - Athletic Department
Five Canisius Teams Earn NCAA APR Awards
04/26/2017 - Athletic Department
Canisius Giving Day is Today
Social Media