Uploaded Ad
2015-16 Hockey Season Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Hockey Earns Team of the Year Honors
Courtesy: Canisius College Athletics  
Release: 05/23/2011
Share |
Captains Scott Moser and Preston Shupe
Courtesy: Canisius College Athletics
View larger

The Canisius College hockey team was recently honored with two Team of the Year awards following the 2010-11 campaign.

The program was honored as the Dr. Daniel P. Starr Outstanding Athletic Team of the Year by CPLD (Campus Programming and Leadership Development). The award is named after the school's former athletic director who led the department from 1974 to 2000.

The hockey squad then added the Griffin Cup, which is awarded by SAAC (Student-Athlete Advisory Committee), to its collection. The winner of the Griffin Cup is determined by a combination of the team's GPA, community outreach, team enhancement, participation in SAAC and supporting other Canisius teams.

The Griffs finished the 2010-11 campaign with 13 victories, advancing to the Atlantic Hockey Quarterfinals after eliminating rival Niagara in the first round of the league tournament. Overall, the Griffs broke eight single-season or career school records during the season, while collecting one All-Atlantic Hockey accolade, three Player of the Month awards and eight weekly honors.

Back to Hockey


Sign Up For Newsletter
Uploaded Ad
America One
Gameday Experience