Uploaded Ad
Sophomore Taylor Law
Courtesy: Tom Wolf Imaging
View larger
Hockey Announces Postseason Award Winners
Courtesy: Canisius College Athletics  
Release: 05/14/2012
Share |

The Canisius College hockey team recognized its top players during the 2011-12 season on Monday, naming its award winners for the campaign.

Sophomore Taylor Law collected Team MVP and Top Forward honors. Law finished tied for the first on the team with 26 points, 11 goals and 15 assists, while also posting a team-best three power-play goals during his second campaign at Canisius.

Sophomore Ben Danford earned the team's Top Defenseman award for the second-straight season, becoming just the second player in the program's history to earn the accolade in each of his first two seasons. Canisius Hall of Famer Joe Federico also accomplished the feat during the 1984-85 and 1985-86 seasons. Danford totaled 13 points on a goal and 12 assists during his sophomore campaign.

Freshman Mitch McCrank picked up Rookie of the Year honors. In his first collegiate season, McCrank led all Canisius freshmen with 10 points, netting three goals to go along with seven assists.

Freshman Braeden Rigney was named the team's Most Improved Player. As a rookie, Rigney recorded six points, two goals and four assists, while posting a team-best .567 faceoff percentage.

Junior Torrey Lindsay was honored with the Top Chapman Memorial Award as the team's unsung hero. Lindsay appeared in all 36 games with eight points, six goals and two assists.

Senior Scott Moser received the Dr. David B. Dietz Award for the second-straight year, which is presented to a player for his dedication in both athletics and academics. The team's captain during the 2011-12 season, Moser tallied 10 points, seven goals and three assists in his senior campaign.

In addition, freshman Keegan Asmundson earned the team's Community Outreach Award, while junior Preston Shupe collected the Hasek's Heroes Award for the second-straight year.

Back to Hockey


America One
Shoes 2015
Gameday Experience
Sign Up For Newsletter
Uploaded Ad