Live Stats
Live Events
Courtesy: Canisius College Athletics

Rowing Competes at the Challenge on the Canal

Courtesy: Canisius College Athletics
Release: 09/28/2013
Related Links

The Canisius College rowing team opened its 2013-14 campaign at the Hobart William Smith Challenge on the Canal on Saturday morning in Waterloo, N.Y.

The Griffs squared off against William Smith, St. John Fisher, Ithaca and Rochester.

In the Varsity Eight, Canisius completed the course in 17:43, placing fourth. Rochester took the top spot in 16:57, with William Smith and Ithaca taking second and third respectively.

The Griffs’ Varsity Eight included junior Liz Reinwald, sophomore Nora Kennon, sophomore Corrine Kickel, sophomore Julie Sciandra, senior Liz McKinney, senior Amanda Kielich, senior Allison Braun, senior Bridget Laszweski, and sophomore coxswain Jordan Bamrick.

“It’s an old saw that you race how you practice. We didn’t do that today - the competitive edge we’ve had at home was missing,” said head coach Joel Furtek. “Against solid, well-coached crews like these, that means poor results. As a team we just have to take this as a big kick in the backside and focus on tomorrow’s race on Tonawanda Creek – our second home in Buffalo. I expect us to bring our daily fire.”

The Griffs took third of four in the Second Varsity Eight race, completing the course in 18:23. Rochester again took the top spot, finishing in 18:11, with William Smith finishing seven seconds behind. Ithaca rounded out the four behind Canisius.

The Second Varsity Eight was made up of sophomore Megan Walsh, freshman Erin Grim, freshman Jenni Vinci, freshman Amber Giambone, freshman Mikaela Braun, junior Libby Chentfant, freshman Liz Delbarba, senior Meghan Martin, and sophomore coxswain Hannah Blum.

The Griffs will have a short turnaround, as they’ll compete on Sunday Sept. 29 at the Head of the Tonawanda. The event will compete against Buffalo and D’Youville.

Canisius will keep the same lineup for the Head of the Tonawanda, with the exception of the coxswains. Blum will be leading the Varsity Eight and Bamrick the Second Varsity Eight. The race will begin at 9 a.m.

Social Media