Live Stats
Live Events
Canisius Varsity Four

Rowing Heads to MAAC Championships on Saturday

Courtesy: Canisius College Athletics
Release: 04/25/2014
Related Links

The Canisius College rowing team will head to West Windsor, N.J. on Saturday to compete in the MAAC Championships.

The Griffs took third at the event last season and finished in a tie for fifth in the program’s inaugural season in 2012.

“There are five, maybe six teams that have a real shot at this, so it’s going to be tough,” said head coach Joel Furtek. “Going into it we have to realize that it’s a team championship and we all have to be there supporting each other and hope every boat is focused on doing the best that they can. If we can keep that focus in our boat and avoid all they craziness that comes along with it, then we’ll be alright.”

This will be the second time the Griffs have rowed at this venue this season, with the team traveling to the Knecht Cup on Mercer Lake two weeks ago.

While none of the Canisius boats managed to advance at the Knecht Cup, the Griffs rebounded last week when they hosted Mercyhurst.

The Canisius Second Varsity Eight, which was comprised of freshmen Amber Giambone, Chanel Davis, Mikaela Braun and Erin Grim, sophomores Megan Walsh, Molly Murphy and Ashley Tylenda, junior Liz Reinwald and sophomore coxswain Hannah Blum completed the course in 8:55.62 en route to winning the race by more than 22 seconds.

The Varsity Eight and Varsity Four each fell to Mercyhurst, but put up some of the season’s fastest times in the races.

The Varsity Eight of freshman Liz DelBarba, sophomores Corrine Kickel, Julia Sciandra and Nora Kennon, seniors Meghan Martin, Liz McKinney, Bridget Laszewski and Allison Braun, and sophomore coxswain Jordan Bamrick completed the course in 7:58.05.

The Varsity Four finished in 10:39.13. The crew consisted of freshman Lauren Bielby and sophomores Nicole Littlejohn, Tiffany Velado and Jordan Szustak, as well as freshman coxswain Kaitlyn Taylor.

Action is scheduled to get underway at 10:30 a.m. Saturday, with the Varsity Fours getting things started. The Second Varsity Eight will row at 10:50 a.m. and the Varsity Eight will close out the opening rows at 11:10 a.m.

The top-three boats in each race will advance to the Grand Final.


Varsity Eight: 
Liz DelBarba, Molly Murphy, Corrine Kickel, Meghan Martin, Liz McKinney, Bridget Laszewski, Allison Braun, Nora Kennon, coxswain Jordan Bamrick.

Second Varsity Eight: Megan Walsh, Chanel Davis, Liz Reinwald, Ashley Tylenda, Amber Giambone, Julia Sciandra, Mikaela Braun, Erin Grim, coxswain Hannah Blum.

Varsity Four: Jordan Susztak, Nicole Littlejohn, Tiffany Velado, Lauren Bielby coxswain Kaitlyn Taylor.

Social Media