Live Stats
Live Events
spacer   My Account for spacer

The Canisius College rowing team opens the spring portion of its schedule on Saturday afternoon at the Jesuit Invitational in Camden, N.J. on the Cooper River hosted by Saint Joseph's University.

Making their first appearance at the race, the Golden Griffins will be joined by a field of five fellow Jesuit institutions including the host Hawks, Boston College, and a pair of MAAC opponents as Fairfield and Loyola round out the field.

The feature race of the day will be the Varsity Eight race at 1 p.m. for the Robert M. Gillin Jr. Trophy. Since the start of the race in 1999, Boston College and Saint Joseph's have each secured the trophy six times with Holy Cross and Fordham capturing the team title once. Neither Holy Cross or Fordham will be competing this year.

Compared to last season's spring opener, this year's crews have a great mixture of scholastic and collegiate experience. The pair of eights will include eight Griffs from last year's squad and ten newcomers to this year's spring roster.

For the Jesuit Invitational, the Varsity Eight will include sophomore Liz Reinwald, senior Alyssa Eddy, freshman Corrine Kickel, freshman Nora Kennon, junior Liz McKinney, junior Nancy Kennish, senior Stephanie Sanfilipo, junior Lynna Paradiso and freshman coxswain Hannah Blum.

The Second Varsity Eightwill be comprised of freshman Erica Mason, junior Meghan Martin, freshman Megan Walsh, freshman Julie Sciandra, senior Julia Roache, senior Amanda Kielich, senior Bridget Wodowski, senior Monica Klenk, and freshman coxswain Jordan Bamrick.

At the end of the race, the Cannonball Trophy will be awarded to the combined men's and women's team champion. The Cannonball Trophy is in honor of Saint Ignatius Loyola's, who founded the Jesuit order. The cannonball signifies Ignatius' horrific injury when he was struck in the right leg by a cannonball while defending the Spanish border.  

According to Saint Joseph's, "The Cannonball Trophy serves as a reminder that all good things start with pain. The glory of winning is only possible by withstanding the mental and physical pain of the 2000m race course. The trophy is awarded to the school with the highest combined points from today's racing. The Cannonball Trophy is a traveling trophy which the winner returns each year. The winning team receives a small cannonball that is theirs to keep as a reminder on their championship performance."

Schedule of events:
11:20 a.m.- Women's Freshman Four
11:40 a.m.- Women's Freshman Eight
12:00 p.m.- Women's Varsity Four
12:40 p.m.- Women's Second Varsity Eight
1:00 p.m.- Women's Varsity Eight - Robert M. Gillin, Jr. Trophy

Returning Customers
Golden Griffin Broadcast Network users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.
Social Media